The Lord Sings

“The Lord your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you; in his love he will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing.” – Zephaniah 3:17

Maybe I am a bad Christian or just an undisciplined one, but I have never personally read this verse before. When I first read it, I was shocked. The Lord my God sings over us? Over me? I couldn’t digest how the Mighty God of the Universe would take delight in the oh so rebellious human race. But he does. And I should probably recognize and take part in this holy delight.

I love to sing. I have a horrible singing voice, but nonetheless I love to sing. Singing praises to God is a form of worship I enjoy and appreciate. It makes sense to me to pour out your soul in front of the presence of God while being vulnerable and heard. I find such delight in singing to The Lord.

Apparently, The Lord likes to sing. He chooses to sing over his rebellious children but nonetheless he delights in his singing. Is it possible that the Lord singing over us is Him pouring his Spirit into us; is it Him becoming transparent in his love for us?

It takes my breath away to think about it.

The Lord rejoices over you with singing. Repeat it to yourself until it strikes that chord within your soul. You know which one I’m talking about. The one that brings you to your knees with gratefulness.

Oh, how he loves us! Sing it with me now….

Leave a Reply

