3 Verses

My Bible Study leaders recently challenged all the married couples in the group to choose three Bible verses to pray for their significant other. I thought this was a fantastic and challenging dare, not to mention  a new way to look at Scripture.  Applying these verses to my spouse, not just myself, allowed me to (re)recognize the power of Scripture and the power of prayer. I was reminded to never underestimate the God who inspired these words and who is able to grant the desires of your heart.

Image

The three verses I chose for my husband:

“Blessed is the man who finds wisdom, the man who gains understanding.” – Proverbs 3:13

I pray for wisdom to infiltrate my husband’s being, not because he is foolish, but because he is young and growing in his faith. My spouse loves the Lord and desires to know as much about him as possible. I pray God grants the desires of his heart and fills him with understanding, thereby, empowering him to lead and teach me as well.

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.” – Mark 12:30

My husband is FULL of spunk, wits and compassion. His personality is dynamic and this verse embodied what God has blessed my husband with and the potential he could have for Christ. I pray my husband is able to use strength and energy to praise the Lord in action and word fulfilling this command in Scripture.

“Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.” – Ephesians 4:32

This verse is specifically for our marriage relationship and my husband’s familial relationships. My spouse is gentle-natured, and quite frankly, he’s an overgrown kid. He is already wonderful at forgiving and being tender towards me (more than I can say for myself). So, I thank the Lord for this blessing and pray God continues to supply my husband with his gentle, peaceful demeanor.

What three verses can you pray over your husband, sister, friend, mother, brother, etc?

One thought on “3 Verses

  1. I love this, and definitely agree with what you said–an interesting new way to see life breathed scripture. What a wonderful blessing you are being to your husband by speaking these things over him!

Leave a Reply

